I am the best GoldenEye player of all time

I always fancied myself as a pretty good player of GoldenEye for Nintendo64. It’s hard not to be, when you devote as much time to playing games as I do. It feels like just yesterday (1997) that I got my first chance to play one of the finest first person shooters ever to grace a console. My uncle Dean borrowed my 64 for a few weeks and in return, said he would buy me any cartridge I wanted. I had it narrowed down to a few titles, but in the end I made my decision, and I couldn’t have been more right. (much thanks to dean)

I played this game all through high school. I played it with Jamie, I played it with Eban and Rachel I played it with Sebastian, Chris, Harris and Phil. I played it with just about anybody willing to sit down and play. It’s kind of sad really what I might have accomplished in my academic career had it not been for things like these. Once I left for college at NHTI, I thought nobody could possibly be as fanatical about this game as me. Sure enough, what did I see displayed on the big screen in North Hall? I played it with Shorty, Tom, Josh, and Scott. I played it with Chainsaw, Garret, Pat, Chi, Huff and Saoul. I always took pleasure in frantic pace of the game, and its addictive nature just always calls me back.

As the chart below shows, amongst my group of six friends I’m still at the top of the pecking order. It’s good to know I’m still at the top of my game.

bondstats

We played with the levels set to random, and the kills to 10. At the end of each match we took our total kills and subtracted how many deaths we each had. We ended up playing in the facility, caves, basement, and the complex, some of them multiple times. I would have liked to play in the temple at least once, but I knew nobody wanted to play me on that level. If I could move to the temple in actuality, I would pack my bags immediately. That is how dearly I hold the temple.

The player who previously won would get to pick the weapon set of their choice. We used automatics, lazers, heavy, grenade launchers, and the golden gun. The last time I played with Luke, he put forth a valiant effort, so I knew I had to keep an eye on him this time too. What I was not prepared for however, was Teddy coming out of nowhere and nearly beating me out in the end. With 2 matches to go, we were in a dead heat, so it was clear it would come down to the wire. In the end, a good time was had by all, except for maybe Keith.

At work today I did a little doodling during my 15ish minute break. I almost always do this, but I usually forget to take them home with me. This time I remembered, so in the spirit of Kohl’s…

workdoodle

Leave a Reply

