when worlds collide

I make no bones about my love for the original Super Mario Kart for SNES. I’m hard pressed to this day, to find any game that can deliver as much pure fun as that cartridge does. I still like to break it out occasionally just to brush up on my techniques, and to make sure that I’m not getting rusty.

I also was, and still am, a huge fan of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, as most children of the eighties were. What is now a worldwide phenomenon, began as a humble comic. At the time Mr. Eastman and Mr. Laird created their turtles, they were art school graduates living in Dover, which is just twenty minutes from my current residence. Nifty!

So being a big fan of both SMK and TMNT, I thought it would be pretty neat to imagine what a racer within the turtle’s setting might have looked like. There is no shortage of Mario Kart ripoffs, so why not merge these two universes into one? There are just so many great settings and characters to include.

I think I would call it Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Kart Racing Extravaganza.

This game not existing is a shame. I have posted my new illustration along with the original reference, lets just call it a parody. I really wanted to include Foot Soldiers and maybe Slash or Baxter Stockman, but I also wanted to stay true to the original image, and the characters I included seemed more important. Click the graphic below for a larger version.

tmntKARTfix

super-mario-kart-number-1

Leave a Reply

