step by step (not the TV series)

Have had this one sitting on the hard-drive for awhile now. I’ve been working on integrating more text into my graphics. Step one, scribble some things on a scrap piece of paper.

Scanned into the ol’ Photoshop and completely redid/cleaned up the text. Lately I’ve been getting into the habit of quickly writing things without lifting the pen off the paper, so I ran with that. Also fixed the cheekbone, nose and ear. Never really looked at an ear for reference before, which is kind of weird considering (A.) how old I am, and (B.) how may ears I have probably drawn in that period of time.

Then next, popped over to Illustrator to trace my lines with the pen tool, and flip the fill around. Now you’ve got your original lines, but so much sharper than before, though I guess it’s kind of hard to tell without looking at a larger version of the file.

Then lastly, jumped back over to Photoshop one more time and applied a little gradient for shiz and giggles. Calling it done! Click this last one to open a larger version if you so please.

Might as well throw in a few miscellanious things from work while I’m at it. Sharpie, pencils and crayons on the backs of meal tickets. Shazaam!



2 Responses to “step by step (not the TV series)”

  1. kirinjirafa Says:

    This is very clever. I like words in art.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

